Kansas City Chiefs win back-to-back Super Bowls with OT victory versus San Francisco 49ers

In Sports by Anywhere Vancouver

Super Bowl LVIII belongs to the Kansas City Chiefs.

The Kansas City Chiefs are back-to-back Super Bowl champions after securing a 25-22 thrilling OT victory versus the San Francisco 49ers.

The Kansas City Chiefs are the first back-to-back Super Bowl champions in the past 19 years. The victory over the 49ers is the franchise’s third Super Bowl in five seasons.

After the 49ers scored a field goal in overtime, Patrick Mahomes produced a 75-yard drive that resulted in a touchdown pass to receiver Mecole Hardman.

Taylor Swift was once again in attendance watching the game from a suite alongside Blake Lively and rapper Ice Spice.

Mahomes threw for 333 yards, who outdueled newcomer Brock Purdy who threw for 255 yards himself. Things weren’t going the Chiefs way in the first half as the 49ers held a 10-0 lead before Chiefs kicker Harrison Bukter got Kansas City on the board for the first time in the game late in the second quarter.

After adding another field goal in the third quarter, the Chiefs took their first lead in the game after Marquez Valdes-Scantling scored a touchdown with less than three minutes left in the quarter.

With Kansas City leading 13-10 heading into the fourth quarter, wide receiver Jauan Jennings scored a touchdown to give the 49ers the lead once again.

The teams remained tied at 19-19 at the end of regulation, setting up a tense overtime period for the Super Bowl. With the victory, Patrick Mahomes becomes the fourth quarterback in NFL history to win three Super Bowls, joining Tom Brady, Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Troy Aikman.

Spread the love